Ranji Trophy: 23-year-old did what even Sachin and Gavaskar could not do with one innings

Prithvi Shaw became the highest individual scorer for Mumbai in Ranji Trophy history by scoring 379 runs in a Ranji Trophy match against Assam at Guwahati. With this, he has also become the second highest individual scorer in the history of Ranji Trophy. BB Nimbalkar holds the record for making an individual score in Ranji Trophy history. He scored an unbeaten 443 in 1948 while playing for Maharashtra. At the same time, Sanjay Manjrekar had the record of the highest individual score (377) against Hyderabad in the 1990-91 season. It was also Mumbai’s highest individual score before Prithvi Shaw.

5 highest individual scores in Ranji Trophy

Run player Team Opposite year
443* B B Nimbalkar Maharashtra Saurashtra 1948-49
379 Prithvi Shaw Mumbai Assam 2022-23
377 Sanjay ManjrekarMumbai Hyderabad 1990-91
366 M V Sridhar Hyderabad Andhra Pradesh 1993-94
359* Vijay Merchant Mumbai Maharashtra 1943-44

Players who scored triple century for Mumbai

player Score Opposite year
Vijay Merchant 359* Maharashtra 1943
Ajit Wadekar 323 Mysore 1967
Sunil Gavaskar 340 Bengal 1982
Sanjay Manjrekar 377 Hyderabad 1991
Wasim Jaffer 314 Saurashtra 1996
Wasim Jaffer 301 Saurashtra 2009
Rohit Sharma 309* Gujarat 2009
sarfaraz khan 301* Uttar Pradesh 2020
Prithvi Shaw 379 Assam 2022

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
Verified by MonsterInsights